Skip to Content

South Dakota

Making an impact in South Dakota communities since 1962.

South Dakota leadership team with Jeff Jones, Pam Browning, Derek Fahey, Bonny Hansen, Keving Moe and Lisa Paczosa

Learn about First National Bank in South Dakota

First National Bank South Dakota was formed on October 5, 1962, with the original name of Valley State Bank. Its name was changed to its current name on July 19, 1994. First National Bank South Dakota is an affiliate bank of First National of Nebraska and is headquartered in Yankton, South Dakota.

First National Bank has a history of doing what's right for our customers and the communities we serve that spans across generations. As one of the top banking institutions in Nebraska, we are proud to be a part of the First National of Nebraska family of banks.

With locations in Nebraska, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, South Dakota and Texas, we haven't lost sight of the foundation on which our success was built. Integrity, Respect, Passion - these are the cornerstones of our Operating Philosophy and represent our commitment to you. At First National Bank, we strive to better serve you and your banking needs - and we are as hopeful and excited about the future of our bank as our founders were in 1857.

South Dakota Leadership

The South Dakota leadership team is devoted to making banking at First National Bank world-class. Learn about the leadership in South Dakota who are making an impact on banking in your local community.

Jeff Jones | Regional Market President

Jeff joined First National Bank in 2007, and has been a bank President for nearly 35 years, with experience at three other banking groups in Minnesota and South Dakota. His banking career started in 1979 with the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC). He earned his B.S. in Business Administration from the University of South Dakota, and is a graduate of the Colorado School of Banking, and ABA Commercial Lending School.

Jeff is currently on the Board and Executive Committee of the Yankton Development Corporation (YAPG), President of the Yankton Community Foundation, and is a member of the Port Yankton initiative to bring quality of life projects to the community. Jeff values spending time with his family and grandchildren. He also enjoys a round of golf when the opportunity presents itself.

Pam Browning | Community President - Huron and Woonsocket

Pam joined First National in 2011, bringing considerable previous work experience with her:

  • FDIC Receivership Asset Manager, Hato Rey, Puerto Rico
  • Farm Credit Services Greeley, CO, Ag Lender and AVP Business Development
  • Home State Bank, Loveland CO Loan Department Manager
  • First Security Bank & Trust, Norton, KS Compliance Officer, Ag Lender

Pam earned her MBA at Fort Hays State University, Hays, KS, with a concentration in management. She is very involved in the Ag Committee with the Huron Area Chamber of Commerce. She serves as Treasurer of the Greater Huron Economic Development Group as well as the GHDC Foundation Board.

Derek Fahey | Community President - Mitchell

Derek joined the bank in 2001as a lender and branch manager. He earned his B.S. in Agricultural Business from South Dakota State University, and has an MBA from the University of South Dakota. Derek is active in community volunteer work in the Mitchell area, serving as the Campaign Chair for the United Way of Mitchell Board, and Treasurer of the Mitchell Community Scholarship Fund Board. He is a member of the Mitchell Technical Institute – Farm/Ranch Advisory Board and serves on the Ag/Commercial Committee of the South Dakota Bankers Association. He enjoys spending time with his family and activities with his children.

Bonny Hansen | Director, Trust Services

Bonny joined FNN Trust Company in 2006 and worked at Wells Fargo Private Client Services prior to that. She earned her Bachelor’s degree from Dakota Wesleyan University and attended the ABA’s National Trust School. Bonny spends much of her free time serving as the Board President for Mitchell Regional Habitat for Humanity, and board member for the South Dakota Habitat for Humanity, Mitchell Area Safehouse Foundation and Trinity Lutheran Church. Bonny enjoys spending time with her husband, Craig, and their children and grandchildren. They love traveling and hope to one day take a vacation to Alaska.

Kevin Moe | Senior Lender

Kevin joined First National in August, 2017, and has been in the banking industry almost 25 years, primarily in ag lending and commercial banking. Kevin holds a Business Economics degree from South Dakota State University with minors in Ag Business and Ag Marketing; he earned his Masters of Science in Finance from Georgetown University. He is currently a candidate in Master of Studies in Law with emphasis in Business Law and Financial Compliance from the University of Southern California’s Gould School of Law. He expects to complete the program of studies in May of 2019.

Kevin is active in the Boys and Girls Club of Yankton, and is a corporate board member of Dakota Business Finance. He enjoys spending time with family and friends – especially over a good meal.

Lisa Paczosa | Director, Retail Branch Banking

Lisa began her career with First National Bank after graduating from college in 1988. Her career started in Omaha in the credit card services department; she then moved to Columbus NE and performed duties including Human Resources Manager and Marketing Director before assuming her role as Retail Director in the Columbus Markets and later expanding her responsibilities into the South Dakota Market. Lisa has a bachelor’s degree from Kearney State College, majoring in Business Administration and Human Resource Management; she is a graduate of Kansas/Nebraska School of Banking, and has earned her PHR certification. Lisa’s passion is her family and spending quality time creating lasting memories.